REFLECTING ON OUR APPROACHING 52ND CHRISTMAS TOGETHER


We are incredibly blessed to see ourselves together for a 52nd Christmas. I could write a book based only on those Christmas celebrations which were all so dear, and so very different. We laughed this week about our first married Christmas where I got my husband a tire pump to pump up our car tires when the time to came to take me to the hospital for the birth of our first child. We had to pump them up each time we drove the car as we were poor college kids and he walked to classes each day to save gas (and probably having to hand pump 4 tires.)  He got me a pair of $3 shoes (which he quickly pointed out that with inflation would probably be $40 dollars now, LOL). It was a very special time.

 OUR FIRST CHRISTMAS TOGETHER IN 1961 AT OKLAHOMA STATE UNIVERSITY before we married.20255_1324743844542_3010222_n

20255_1324743884543_7897455_n

We now  have eleven grandkids in five states:

North Dakota: Steven and Dakota Hensler

 Minnesota-University of Minnesota:  Justin Grubbs

  OhioJeff and Samantha Butcher

  Illinois  Northwestern University: Erica Grubbs

  Wisconsin: Zachary Ellingson Adam Ellingson  Aspen Hensler

 Iowa: Olivia Grubbs   Jared Grubbs

gRANDSONS

THE FOUR TALENTED AND BEAUTIFUL GRANDDAUGHTERS

GIRLS

OUR TWO DAUGHTERS AT MY BOULDER,CO. BOOK SIGNING 2012

197043_10200139249949863_1463765945_n

488020_10151705764853943_1120829626_nOUR SON STEVEN

OUR “FUR CHILDREN” AND THE TWO OF US IN PRESENT DAY TIME, LOL

528693_10200778970622480_686195658_n

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family Legacies, Greyhounds, marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to REFLECTING ON OUR APPROACHING 52ND CHRISTMAS TOGETHER

    • One thing I have learned in life is that “family” is where it is at. God has truly blessed me with a wonderful family and its the very validation of everything I ever hoped for from childhood until now. Thank you for your time and for reading it.

    • I told some others it reminds me of the southern saying, “Stay with the one what “brung” ya'”. LOL. The comfort of a spouse that knew your every stage of life, cared enough to walk through the dark days with you, shared the joy of bringing children into this world, and walked the path of the Lord this long journey, is not to be surpassed. I am blessed.

  1. Very nice, Joyce!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Thank you so much. Never would have thought I’d live long enough to see this, but maybe God has a sense of humor and doesn’t know what to do with me yet. LOL

    • Thank you Jim. Today is the day and we are enjoying 60 mile an hour winds, 21 degrees below wind chill, and both still busy with our greyhounds and “teasing” them into going outside to do their duty. How is that for a celebration, LOL. 52 years ago on our wedding day it was 76 degrees, sun and beautiful following a storm much like this that engulfed the Midwest. All I can say is I relate to the saying, “Stay with the one that “brung” ya'” LOL

Leave a Reply

