Saying Goodbye to my most colorful character; in my life, in my novels, in my heart. My Sister-in Love/Law Lynda Grubbs


 This is a repost of an article from 2015; just a burning memory today that I cannot shake so I am reposting it . Must be a God Wink thing.

Author picture for articles

Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs: telling the story of my sister-in-law Lynda would take volumes. This is just my “Eulogy for Lynda”. And yes, this would be completely “Okie Style”.

lynda reunion

Lynda was not the “usual” kind of gal. She could tear a vehicle down to nothing but parts and put it back together. “She didn’t need a man to teach her anything.” Complex, loyal to a fault, loving and totally private, when she finally let me into her life, it was something of a “Pandora’s Box on steroids” but it was filled with plenty of love, humor, and talent.”

Due to our mutual level of declined health, we had not been together, except for phone and Facebook,  in some years.

She in Oklahoma, me in Iowa. But there were the mutual actions of friendship and affection exchanged. From her, pounds and pounds of pecans, often shelled up to a 10# package to get us started on the others which were already cracked for us. We shared phone calls because as she said, “not much for writing here.” There were joke gifts and beautiful Christmas cards, one which is pinned to my lace curtain in my writing room and about ten years old. It is the top center card.

glw6

The first book of the suspense series and Lynda was love from the first appearance.

lynda Grubbs wr

Two of her cards are pinned to a curtain next to my computer writing center. I loved her choices, always unique.

My “gifts” to her  were personal and varied, but the one she got the most kick out of, was that she was “the Lynda” in several of my novels in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series. She was in the first novel,  Loving Pride,            and subsequently she appeared in most of the 12 novels.

She was beloved as “Lynda, truck-driving rescuer of victims being taken underground to safety”. Her favorite novel was “A Woman’s Revenge is Love” in which she was in concert action with the lead character, Tori Rae Sebold, (the “alter ego” of her niece, my oldest daughter Trula Dee Ann). Surrounded with Oklahoma connections and OU Sooner references, she loved it  

                glw Fifth wheel of suspense plain redo cover kdp                        

While she lived out her life in Billings, Oklahoma (population 436 in 2000 census), on paper she was traveling the highways saving lives, giving advice, and wise beyond her years. She was wily, willful and kind. She was written as her “younger self” in looks, which was very petite and athletic. Lynda was a “head turner” in her day (as the Okies say.)

lynda grubbs3

The Billings house, family home of my husband’s family, is written into the books when Lynda is involved. Many clues and mysterious happenings took place here in the literary series.  That is “old Snoop” on the porch and she surely loved that old dog.

There is much that could be written about her personal life: struggles, victories, hopes, dreams and regrets, but I will leave those to her children and other family. She and I chose to enjoy our “little secret” about who she was in the books (though she is the only character who’s real name, at least first name is used.). I wanted her to be able to “feel herself” in the books and enjoy it as though she was living it.

The love between sister-in-laws was never so strong as when she turned to me in the year 2003 to help her find her “lost family”. Lynda, we found out, had been the victim of a corrupt Oklahoma adoption practice causing her, with one sister, to never be taken to the orphanage when the family children were picked up and transported to the facility. She and the sister were the youngest and  given to a wonderful couple who loved and raised the  two girls with great care. They never knew what happened to their siblings until I was able to make a connection with one of the granddaughters of an original sibling. The rest is history as they were able to re-unite and have some time together before the passing of some of her family, and now herself. For that I thank God and His mercy.

Lynda Grubbs9

Lynda at three when she was when “co-opted” by a corrupt official charged with taking her to the orphanage who instead delivered her to a couple wanting to adopt. Her sister Donna was taken with her, and the other siblings went to the orphanage, taken in a different car.

lynda Grubbs7

Lynda and her sister with new dolls, new parents, and a new home. While she loved her adoptive parents, she never gave up wanting to find her family.  Lynda in the foreground, Donna on the right.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cut and dried facts will be in her Obituary in the newspaper, and this may be the strangest “obituary” you’ve ever read, but it is my way of telling who she was behind that big private screen she hid behind. As they say about the dash on your tombstone that separates the years between birth and death, it represents how we lived. Her dash was filled with mystery,privacy and a quiet, personal sense of painful honesty about life and its way of playing out. When I think of her, I always think of the White Buffalo which was her favorite thing to collect and her profile picture on her Facebook page. I hope she  enjoyed the ones I sent her.

 Lynda white buffalo

 

Among her other dreams was to have/ride in a sports car convertible. On their visit to Iowa, her nephew, my son, Steve Grubbs showed up at night to fulfill that wish. Driving his silver Porsche “Boxster” he took her for a moonlight drive.  With the exception of his speed, it was all she had hoped for.                                                

                                              lynda Grubbs 2         

Lynda Grubbs

Lynda was protesting the taking of her picture, fresh out of the shower with her hair not “all fixed up”. She was at the restaurant pre-Oklahoma Sooner game at Norman.  She was known to be fun-loving aunt, loyal and a Die Hard Sooner fan. She loved the things written into the novels that incorporated them into the storyline.

 

Hey Girl, here’s to the “good times” and as you always said, “screw the bad ones.”  Love ya’ and will always remember and be thankful for your friendship and caring. I have the joy of knowing last time our husbands spoke, you told Jack to tell Herm to let me know you “loved me.” I know Lynda, and I love you more.

Lynda Grubbs7 Delores Lynda AnnCody19 DonnaFayeCody23

Lynda at 19 and sister Donna at 23.

 

Lynda Grubbs5 with Audrey Cody
Lynda with North Dakota niece and “clone” Audrey Cody who wrote of this picture : This is the photo I like to look at. It was taken in OKC when I went to bury mom. That was the second time we met. The first time was when we buried dad. She sat across from me at the café, staring at me. She said, “You gotta forgive me for gawkin’. You got my eyes and I can’t hardly get over it.” So I let her know that I’d stared at her picture for over 45 minutes, too. Wish I’d gotten to know her better, but Donna said she was a lot like me. My sister said that too. Guess I’ll never know.
lynda reunion
 OFFICIAL OBITUARY WRITTEN BY ME, PER THE REQUEST OF LYNDA’S SON.
Lynda Anne Grubbs, wife of Jack, mother of 5, grandmother of 7, great-grandmother of 3, died 3-3-2015. Though her home was in Billings, her heart was wherever her family was. Her legacy is found in her independent spirit; her joy was being reunited with her biological family after her adoption caused them to be lost to her until 2003. Born 7/17/44 as Delores Cody, Lynda was the inspiration for an ongoing character in a suspense novel series; a secret she chuckled about privately. Her love of animals spoke to her true nature. She is missed by those who knew and loved her. Those who did not, missed out on a beautiful soul. Visitation Friday March 6, Brown-Dugger Funeral Home, 8am-8pm. Billings. Graveside burial at Billings Union Cemetery 2:00 Saturday is open to friends.
A FEW OF THE FACEBOOK ENTRIES AFTER HER DEATH; TELLS ALOT ABOUT WHAT SHE WAS LIKE TO OTHERS:

Just some Facebook comments left on my page;

So sorry to lose her……”may you be at peace Lynda Grubbs.” She was a quiet, private soul…….unless she let you into her world…then you saw the spitfire that she was! :’) She had a heart of gold and a sly smile that always melted my heart. I’ll never forget when I hand delivered our Wedding Invitation to her. She looked at me, looked at my ring, and said with a stern look on her face, “IT’S ABOUT DAMN TIME HE LISTENED TO ME! I’VE BEEN TELLING HIM TO DO THAT FOR TEN YEARS NOW!!” (then she turned around and walked off! (((giggle))) Brandon and I thank you for “letting us into your world!” You will be missed. Cat.
Unlike · · Share
You, Stacy Grubbs, Vicki Waggoner and 42 others like this.
1 share

Jeral Boyer She was always so kind to me and always had a smile and kind word for me when I was having a hard day–I loved her so!
March 4 at 12:16pm · Unlike · 3

Roger M. Coffelt From melling?
March 4 at 12:16pm · Unlike · 1

Cat Evans Yes
March 4 at 12:17pm · Unlike · 1

Neal Ehlers Prayers for family and friends from the Ehlers
March 4 at 12:18pm · Unlike · 3

Pam Reaves She was one tough and yet always sweet and kind lady to me.
March 4 at 12:21pm · Unlike · 5

Melinda Branson She took me under her wing when I was 19 and started working at Rush Metals. Very hard working, ornery lady. Had too many back road trips to count
March 4 at 12:24pm · Unlike · 4

Aaron Miller I’ll never forget giving her a ride through rush metals on my bike. She had a good heart.
March 4 at 12:27pm · Unlike · 5

Buffy Puls She was always so good to me and my mom. My mom was going through such a hard time after my Dad passed. She was a great support for my mom.
March 4 at 12:28pm · Unlike · 2

Roger M. Coffelt She is the awesomest i will truly miss her.
March 4 at 12:29pm · Unlike · 3

Cat Evans Hahaaa! I would’ve paid $$$ to see that Miller!
March 4 at 12:29pm · Unlike · 1

Violet Murphy Dang wished I could have talked to her one more time.
March 4 at 12:55pm · Unlike · 3

Rick Reaves She could fry a mean duck..RIP.
March 4 at 2:11pm · Unlike · 4

Samantha Glaser Prayers for the family!
March 4 at 2:11pm · Unlike · 2

Jan Matteson RIP Linda you were a strong kind lady and you will be missed. Would see you ride by with Jack on his trips around town.
March 4 at 2:48pm · Unlike · 3

Cindy Yunker once you knew her, you had to love her!
March 4 at 3:29pm · Unlike · 6

Teresa Pemberton Pittman Loved our long talks when I worked late at Rush Metals. Wonderful lady.
March 4 at 4:56pm · Unlike · 4

James Clavin I remember all the advice Linda gave me when I first started at Rush. God Bless. RIP
March 4 at 6:43pm · Unlike · 2

Debbie Huffmire Davis She would come to the OASIS and sit for hours talking to mom. Then when her mom got out of school she would come by and they would eat ice cream then go home. She was a Good Gal.
March 4 at 10:00pm · Unlike · 2

Teresa Wilson Loved her and will miss her.
March 4 at 11:10pm · Unlike · 3

Loretta Thomas wow when did she pass? RIP Lynda I Will Miss You U Always Gave Me Good Advice A Wonderful Woman!
Yesterday at 1:12am · Unlike · 3

Joyce Godwin Grubbs Awww Cat, thank you so much. I really laughed because once I had a picture of my hubby and I on FB celebrating our 43rd anniversary and I put some mushy and funny things on there, When I went back to her comment it was something like, “That’s the biggest load of …See More
29 mins · Like · 1

Cat Evans Brandon and I loved her VERY much!!! We “got” her…..as she did us. I smiled just looking at those ornery eyes if hers…she didn’t even have to say a word!! LOL
18 mins · Unlike · 1

Cat Evans And Joyce Godwin Grubbs…..you KNOW she would be having a FIT over the “fuss” being made over her!!! LOL (that’s why we do it right? LOL )
16 mins · Unlike · 1

Joyce Godwin Grubbs You do know her well. Yes, and I can’t repeat the words she would use to correct us before she’d duck her head grin a little and wipe away a tear. Softest heart in the world unless you brought out the Momma Grizzly in her.
3 mins · Like
Joyce Godwin Grubbs

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Family Legacies, Obituary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saying Goodbye to my most colorful character; in my life, in my novels, in my heart. My Sister-in Love/Law Lynda Grubbs

  1. Lyle Ernst says:

    Joyce: you are, without a doubt, the best darned writer I know and will ever know. You make it look so darned easy. Luv ya. Lyle

    • And you are the best darn morale booster I have ever known. YOu know how I value your opinions, though to make them more believable you might one to give me a criticism some day. And by the way, you “ain’t too shabby yourself” Mr. award winner and multi-genre book author. Thanks though, Lyle. Appreciate it. You and Lynda would have been great friends though she would definitely have looked you in the eyes and said they should be a deeper color of brown than the ones you have.

Leave a Reply

