Keep Rainbows in your life: I do daily.


Prisms2

 

Three crystal prisms hang in the window that looks out toward the Fairy Garden in my yard. When the sun ‘hits’ them the crystals fire rainbows all over my living room walls and ceilings. They are suspended by fishline which makes them look like they are just “there” because you do not see the fishline at all.

Why? you may ask do I do this?

As many may know, I am an author prone to inserting personal things into my novels that are “real” to me. In the literary field these are known as “genius/or bonus points. One of them is the concept of prisms in  windows to provide rainbows. It was a fascination left over from childhood when everything seemed dark and sad. The rainbows “picked me up and encouraged me.” I first wrote them into “The Monday Night Flight Club” where the character of Presley is introduced. At 14, after being rescued, she is put into foster care with Momma Bets.  Presley strings prisms on the window of her room with dental floss and is re-vitalized by the rainbows.

I special ordered some prisms to “share” on special occasions. I had, as an adult, had a prism hanging from my car mirror and others have now done the same. I decided to put the idea out there for those who might like to have these for their own room, office, car, nursery, whatever. We all need rainbows in our life to remind us of the beauty that can be ours. As in the Bible, it was also a promise to each of us: Genesis 9:13 I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth.

I hope you consider these as a “small token gift” you could share with a note of encouragement to someone you love or see in need. Just a unique and affordable sign of love and caring.  There is a large selection online one may order as I did.

Remember to always keep magic and love in your life, and to share it with others.

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/Monday-Night-Flight-Club-Greyhound-ebook/dp/B003U4WBH8/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1431796582&sr=8-12&keywords=joyce+godwin+grubbs

 

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Domestic violence, escape, Life lessons about prejudice. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keep Rainbows in your life: I do daily.

  1. I’ve always loved crystals. I used to give them to people for healing…..

    Everything is tied together: Genesis 9:13 I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth.

    Sounds to me like dreaming wishes…..

    thanks. lovely.

Leave a Reply

