Veterans Day and Memorial Day: Honoring Family, Lest we Forget


flag memorial vs veterans

Jason leave no medal behind

These men of our family are precious to me for the service they gave to their country. This spans from WWII to present. And introducing our first woman of the family, Jamie Allen. She belongs to my maternal family the Marrs of Morris Oklahoma, and Nederland Texas.

Jamie Allen is the daughter of the late John Marrs and granddaughter of Johney Cecil Marrs and Mary Marrs of Nederland Texas. She has brought honor to our family and we thank her for her service.

Jamie Allen is the daughter of the late John Marrs and granddaughter of Johney Cecil Marrs and Mary Marrs of Nederland Texas. She has brought honor to our family and we thank her for her service.

GODWIN SIDE; WAYNE  BEARDEN MARRIED TO CHARLOTTA GODWIN, Wayne Bearden’s service was in the Navy as Fire Controlman in the Pacific Theater aboard the USS Columbia during World War II. He went into the Navy at 17. Back then a lot of young men were so willing to serve they lied about their age and I guess it must have been either hard to discover the lie or just over looked. He’s going to be 93 in January 2016  so he has been blessed with a very long life

DELMAR KISER MARRIED TO MILDRED GODWIN,

GILBERT “GABE” GODWIN SON OF AGRIPPA AND AMY GODWIN,  

JERRY LYNN KISER IS THE SON OF MILDRED GODWIN KISER AND DELMAR KISER.

vets family-Godwin

JACK MARRS, SON OF ARTHUR AND RHODA MARRS:

JOHNEY CECIL MARRS, BROTHER OF JACK,

SON OF ARTHUR AND RHODA MARRS.

vets family Marrs

 Johney Cecil Marrs at “The Wall” via an Honor Flight from Texas. He was honored, and grateful, for the opportunity.

vet family Marrs at wall

Jerry Hogue and Ty Marrs

vets family newly found

JEPPIE NEIL HOGUE WAS FATHER TO MY COUSIN JERRY HOGUE. I AM RELATED THROUGH MY BIOLOGICAL GRANDMOTHER ESTELLA FRANCES HILL MARRIED TO MY GRANDFATHER AGRIPPA WESLEY GODWIN.

vets family hill hogue

ELVEN ANDREW MARRS , “UNCLE BUD” IS RELATED THROUGH THE MARRS FAMILY.

Elven Andrew Marrs

Elven Andrew Marrs ” the son of JohnM Marrs and Anna Elizabeth Harris Marrs He is pictured on the banner that we hang on our Marrs Family reunion held annually on Memorial Day weekend in Morris, Oklahoma. .

Our Marrs Family Banner which is displayed at Family reunions held Memorial Weekend every year, in Morris Oklahoma.

Our Marrs Family Banner which is displayed at Family reunions held Memorial Weekend every year, in Morris Oklahoma.

 Arick Johnson, son of Becky Marrs Johnson and Bob Johnson, also served in the Air Force . He would be the grandson of Elven Marrs, great grand son of John M Marrs. Arick he was stationed in CO Springs, Osan AB Korea, Aviano Italy, and Spangdahlem Germany he served 11 years and was deployed to Kandahar, Afghanistan; Al Adeid, Qatar. his training was in SA TX

Arick Johnson, son of Becky Marrs Johnson and Bob Johnson, also served in the Air Force . He would be the grandson of Elven Marrs, great grand son of John M Marrs. Arick he was stationed in CO Springs, Osan AB Korea, Aviano Italy, and Spangdahlem Germany he served 11 years and was deployed to Kandahar, Afghanistan; Al Adeid, Qatar. his training was in SA TX

MY STEP-FATHER, CAPTAIN WILLARD M. SMITH

vets family step smith

MY SISTER TRULA’S SONS, JASON, DARRIN AND BRADLEY TANNER

vets tanner and grubbs

MY BELOVED FATHER-IN-LAW ALBERT HARRY “BILL” GRUBBS.

SGT. JASON WILLARD TANNER RET’D. Served in Somalia and Afghanistan.

vets family tanner jason

SGT. JASON TANNER SERVED IN AFGHANISTAN AT TORKAM AIR BASE

vets family tanner afghanistan

Nephew Scott Grubbs, son of  the late “Jack”son Ross Grubbs and Vickie Pittman Grubbs Waggoner of Oklahoma. He had a distinguished career in the U.S. Air Force and amazing tours of service in Afghanistan/Iraq retiring Master Sgt..

 Scott Grubbs served in the U.S. Air Force for 22 years with distinction. He was deployed to Iraq and many bases for duty. He is the son of the late Jack Grubbs and Vickie Waggoner. He is a Master Sergeant Retired.

Scott Grubbs served in the U.S. Air Force for 22 years with distinction. He was deployed to Iraq and many bases for duty. He is the son of the late Jack Grubbs and Vickie Waggoner. He is a Master Sergeant Retired.

vets family grubbs air force

Husband of Nancy Snyder, Neese who is the daughter of Sylvia “Sib” Godwin Snyder and the late Chuck Snyder.  Max Neese served in the U.S. Air Force

vets family Max Neese snyder side

flag collage 2

WE ALL TRY TO “SERVE AND SUPPORT” IN OUR OWN WAY, AS I DID AS AN AUTHOR.  

Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs working on the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.

Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs working on the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.

********************************

 I was honored to co-author a unique narrative fiction novel with my grandson Justin Jeffrey Grubbs. When my nephew Jason Tanner was to be deployed to Afghanistan we had “fair warning” of his impending deployment and time to prepare. As a morale “booster” I began to write a novel to tell of the some of the deployment challenges in uprooting one’s life to to deploy. He would eventually go to a place once considered, while he was there at Torkam Air Base, “The most dangerous place on earth.” I would send chapter by chapter as I wrote it, and soon, he requested I include some of his unit in the novel. I was happy too. They would read it as “content readers” to be sure I did credit to the Army. 

As this novel would be included in my Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series, I wrote a thread of real cases presented in the fictional thread and disguised by names of workers and victim/survivors, and disguised locations to protect their confidentiality and for safety as some were/are underground.

Pictured is my “co-author” who had been to a Leadership Forum sponsored by General Tommy Franks. When he heard the General speak, Justin was inspired. He contributed some invaluable content ideas for the format of the storyline. Justin Jeffrey Grubbs was a freshman at the University of Minnesota at the time. Note he is wearing his shirt designating General Tommy Franks  

VETS FAMILY NOVEL

The novel was printed using two different covers; one with the “Infidel” shirt (a private unit shirt reminding them how they were looked upon by the enemy) and one with a plain black shirt for the novels shipped to Afghanistan for the soldiers. This of course a safety measure in case of seizure or a find by the enemy.

VET FAMILY NOVEL

vet family 4

A PERSONAL REFLECTION BY SGT. JASON TANNER ON HIS 40th BIRTHDAY  IN AFGHANISTAN  At Torkham Air Base. 

Sgt. Jason Tanner while stationed in Afhanistan at Torkham Air Base.

Sgt. Jason Tanner while stationed in Afhanistan at Torkham Air Base.

Jason avatar

July 20, 2011 at 9:06pm

                                                                           I   STOOD
                                                                   By Sgt. Jason Tanner
  • I  stood in the shadows of the mountains of Tora Bora where Bin Ladin  planned his deeds.
  •  I have said ‘lets go’ and ‘move out’, when other Americans  would rather quit and go home.
  •  I have pushed my 40 old body to surpass the 20 year old ones around me.
  •  I have looked my son in his eyes and told him that I will be OK knowing that I truly do not know that answer.
  •  I have fought  the urge to say “F” it, and I lead my men to drive on.
  •  I have dealt with the lonely nights and slept without the caress of my girl.
  •  I stand next to men every day that do the same thing that I do and that fight the same demons that I fight every day.
  •  I drive on when I am hurt and cannot stand from the pain.
  •  I smile and say I am OK when I am ready to break.
  • Hurt or sick, well rested or not, mentally straight or a mind of cluster, I drive on.
  •  And then someone will ask me why I do what I do if it causes so much pain. Most of the time I tell them, as I tell my son, if not me then who?  Someone has to defend this country so it may as well be me.
  • ********************************************************************************
  • AN EMAIL FROM SGT. JASON TANNER THAT ACCOMPANIED THE POEM ABOVE.
  •   But after our last few e-mails Aunt Joyce, you need to know that it(shis service)  is for the 89%(who do not serve).
  •  It is for a retired history teacher, or so an old man can have his garden.
  •  It is for a hard working father or mother so they don’t have to leave their kids.
  •  It is for the student that just hasn’t figured out yet where they want to go.
  •  And it is for the author so she can have a story to tell.
  •  You see Aunt Joyce,   There are many reason that I do what I do, and most of the time I don’t understand them. Maybe like my Mom’s kids, mine have suffered some too.  I do what I do because it is what I am good at and all I know how to do, it is the only thing that brings me pride besides my kids. When my days are over if someone were to ask me then,” Would you do it again?”  I would say yes. As long as every adversity that has come my way stands in front of me again, then yes But only if you don’t change one moment of the pain or one moment of the fear or loneliness. I will do it again. These are the things that have made me who I am and what I am.
  •  Some of these things are not good, but they are still me. I may not be able to stand next to a more perfect man, but as I said, I  stood in some pretty good places that other men will never stand; some men would be afraid to stand, and other men would never try to stand.
  •  At the end of it all when I look back at things I have done, I get one thing out of it; pride. But you have to go through the “suck” before you get there.

[Included in this post WITH HIS PERMISSION IN REPLY TO MY EMAIL CONCERNING HIS BIRTHDAY}

IN AFGHANISTAN  Jason torkam

ON HIS “BASE” IN AFGHANISTANjason and crew Afghanistan

flag memorial vs veterans

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Family claims, Family Legacies, Military and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Veterans Day and Memorial Day: Honoring Family, Lest we Forget

  1. Thank you for letting us share your honouring of these soldiers who served us. It was a high school friend who came back from fighting in Korea who showed me pictures of war orphans, which inspired me to write an essay I still quote as part of what led me to opening Shishur Sevay.

  2. Michelle, we are so blessed to have been inspired in our own ways to lead the lives of service we found ahead. I can only imagine the journey and how different life and our world around us might have been had we not embraced the mission our lives sent us on. Thank you for your comments and support.

Leave a Reply

