Blogging Successfully, Perseverance is the Key, and Why WordPress is my Choice.


Author through the ages, but blogger since the grey hair took over. No worries, I found WordPress and an audience. 

My best advice to each of you is;

Blog, even in this glutted market; hold your numbers up high be they ten or a hundred. If you are a true writer, you “just want to be read” as I do. Different strokes for different folks, so jump in, the water is fine.

orange book pic 2

Confession is good for the soul, and I will skip the lame excuses which include that for the first two years on WordPress I only posted a total of 16 posts yielding a whopping average of  35 views  each. That was enough to make me turn the proverbial tail and run like a scared author. Little did I know that in a scant 3 more years I would garner 429 views in 12 hours on a small post about the “Best-Worst Cafe in Oklahoma.” Who knew? and  then 763 the first 12 hours about a “love story” couple with a total of 1762 with many from foreign countries. (It still gets random hits from all over the world.)

In  2015, I checked my blog stats to prep myself for the possibility of discontinuing my author’s blog; again, the lame excuses, I’m old, retired, who wants to hear from me?

The research was easy considering I wisely chose WordPress as my delivery system when starting my blog officially. It  gives you every possible stat you can imagine concerning numbers, who reads the blogs, how many are authors, what country they come from?  You can change the appearance often to keep it fresh and free.

The  fact that I am a “slowed down version of myself” was intimidating until I realized how easy I have it using WordPress and how easy the posts are to make. Here is what I found.

Those three years following the wimpy start,  I am more active, ( I posted more than 100 posts in these intervening 3 years.) I have reached 101 different countries outside the United States and some of them I have never even heard of, but they have now heard of me. I have over 15,500 views. Some are small, some whimsical, each hit a different target group.

While I have learned that most readers do not push the like button or leave comments, many return again and again (the stats disclose this as fact). And I am fine with that as long as I’m growing. I have nothing to prove to anyone but myself.

I also know many more authors/bloggers who have far greater numbers than these, (but then I am a gal in her 70’s who began her blog at 68,) so I’m not a whiner and feel blessed with my numbers. After all there is a learning curve to building an audience. The statistics for 2015 show that I was already ahead in numbers at six months into the year, as the entire year of 2014. 2016 is looking even better. UPDATE: 2017 arrived with 19,000+ and more countries abroad reading.

Message received loud and clear to self. KEEP WRITING, as when you get senile and start writing garbage, you won’t have to go offline; the readers will leave you.

I leave you bloggers out there with the same advice I was given by a prestigious editor (unknown to me at that time) of 25 years at  a leading newspaper, largest in its state.  I had “shyly” published my first book Indie style and he spontaneously wrote me an email after he read “The Monday Night Flight Club”.

156082_1738772314995_777333_n

He told me that he read hundreds of novels, “his passion” in his years as an editor, and said he didn’t really care/worry what happens to the characters as it was just their “destiny” so to speak, in the story-line unfolding. He said he was, however,  “from the first page, caring of Presley and what happened to her and felt he was championing her”.  By the time he finished the book, he was very caring of several of the characters and their fate. So his advice to me, is my advice to you. Keep Writing.” And I did, until I had 15 novels, a non-fiction book with prestigious contributors and outstanding subject matter, and also had some memoir work as a ghost writer to be proud of.

My best advice to each of you is;

Blog, even in this glutted market; hold your numbers up high be they ten or a hundred. If you are a true writer, you “just want to be read” as I do. Different strokes for different folks, so jump in, the water is fine.

glw Fifth wheel of suspense plain redo cover kdp

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blogging Successfully, Perseverance is the Key, and Why WordPress is my Choice.

  1. GJ Sherwood says:

    look forward to reading your comments ect. You do a great job

  2. Ginger Dawn Harman says:

    I find this true. In a way blog stats can be frustrating but it is about who you reach and how you connect. Great post!

Leave a Reply

