WHY I RETIRED ON FACEBOOK INSTEAD OF FLORIDA


 

WHY I RETIRED ON FACEBOOK INSTEAD OF FLORIDA

Oh yeah, there is that whole “it takes money thing,” but more than that, it was because I am a definite Type A personality, from childhood to the grave looks like. So here I am in the Midwest, the Heartland of America, living on the curve just off Highway 61 with woods in front of me, pasture behind me, in a little stretch of road called Ricker Hill, not to be confused with the mail I get addressed to “Richer Hill”.

 I had just retired for the third time, and was ready to be a full time writer. I had no problem continuing to work a minimum 40-hour week, although doing it all on the computer was really different. There were no casual lunches with peers, no gossip overheard in the women’s restrooms, and no ‘cornered prey’ in the halls at work to tell my old stories too( ignoring their ‘deer in the headlight’ looks. ) Nope, it was me, the computer and the old balding man with the two greyhounds who shares the house with me. Hmmmm, what to do?

As a writer who has content just ‘flow’ freely, there is never a problem with fulfilling my hours writing; but I got lonely. I ventured onto Facebook after prompts from various members of the “Gang of Eleven” (my grandkids). I have to admit, checking up on them and embarrassing them with posts on their sites when their friends, or my grandchildren seem to have ‘inappropriate posts,’ was a great deal of fun. It gave me a sense of fulfillment. I was ‘policing’ their cyber lives thus ensuring their ‘safety and futures’.

Then I was besieged by the withering sense of withdrawal from ‘Adults and Controversy’ which had been a major factor in my life for more than forty years. I ‘friended’ a few, and responded to a few friend posts requests. Lo and behold, I seemed to have no friends who minded if I was in my pajamas. (I always assure everyone I change my pajamas daily whether I need to or not.) Last came the old need that had controlled me the bigger share of my life.  The old “Need to be Needed Syndrome.”

NOW I HAVE IT ALL. I can go on my Facebook and enjoy friendly posts, enlightening commentary, political tripe which allows me to delete the opinion with a click of a button, and most of all, my new friends, and some who are old. People I went to grade school with in Oklahoma, friends from my old days in Texas, and high school and college friends, have found me. I found cousins I had “lost for 30 years”and even had a reunion in Texas with them. I have been able to continue my advocacy/counseling for victims of domestic violence and rape/sexual assault, and still worked on writing 15 books, took up photo journalism, and worked an underground mail system for victims. Whew. .

glw Fifth wheel of suspense plain redo cover kdpOne fun thing has been to meet on Facebook many authors, editors, producers, and the “wanna be” and “will be” authors on their way to fulfilling their dreams. I have had such lively discourses on the Facebook site to the point I now have to send a “warning” post to ‘new friends,” that mine is an eclectic site that reflects ‘all’ my friends: Political (Republicans, Democrats, Independents and Naysayers), Straight and Gay, Liberal and Conservative, Religious, Atheist, Agnostics (Yes there is a difference), Young and ‘mature’. Many are those I met through the years while working in the inner cities with street people, addicts, prostitutes, police officers, legal folks, and just plain about any and everyone. Many I have never met personally, and may never meet in this lifetime.

Now I never lose touch:  I continue to make  friends on Facebook I never knew before. I am happy and content to be a listening ear, a caring heart and a person who knows that God Don’t Make NO Junk, so we’re all worthy to be heard and loved.  And in the interest of full disclosure got caught up by a couple of n’er do wells out to scam me and created a false Facebook site having stolen my profile, pictures and siphoning off friends until I caught it and sic’d Facebook on it. 

Therefore, if at my retirement I was given a gift, I believe this one, Facebook, would be the best. It keeps me engaged with people, and people have been my life. It keeps me in touch with my grandkids now scattered from Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio. Daily I know they are okay. It allows me to keep my sense of humor, and to keep my mind “sorta” sharp.

So if you have been mulling over where to retire, just remember you can retire anywhere, but for me, RETIRING ON FACEBOOK, tops the list.

Author pic with books orange

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Retirement and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to WHY I RETIRED ON FACEBOOK INSTEAD OF FLORIDA

  1. Dottie Melko says:

    So true. I retired 4 years ago as a litigation adjuster, moved to the Rio Grande Valley to be near my parents. A year & a half ago, my younger sister had a stroke, leaving her paralyzed on the right side & unable to care for my dad any longer. I moved virtually into my dad’s to care for him (too many strokes). My world shrunk to a place the size of a pea instead of contact with lots of people daily (I live in a retirement resort of about 300 people.) and lots of activities. Facebook became my way to make contact with the outside world!! I understand completely!!

    • Who knew when I came screaming, wailing and with gnashing of teeth into the technological age, that I would find an electronic friend registry ready made. I am so happy that we connected and I believe I have now spanned from the ’40’s and being thrilled with a radio, to this absolutely astonishing world of communication. I shall always be grateful I found it: oh wait, maybe it found me. So glad “we found it and each other.”

  2. Trish Jordan (Beloved) says:

    I for one, am awfully glad to have found you here. 🙂

  3. Michael says:

    I hope you don’t mind that I often point to you as an example of what can be, even though you make it look so easy!

    • Thank you sweet Michael: I would point out your prejudice being one of the “favorite” cousins of my growing up years, but I think I shall delay that and bask in the glow of appreciation of your remarks.

  4. What an eye-catching title/topic, Joyce. Good, good job here. If I may–why don’t you consider submitting this one to a Boomer-age magazine or something? Show others that there is no need to be afraid of these new technologies….!

  5. High praise indeed, Ms. Rebecca: considering you are my “bloggin High Priestess”. If anyone else suggested this, I would be a complimented, but not motivated; however your suggestions I take serious and will certainly see if I can find an interested party that has a submission guideline I can meet. Thank you for the input and the encouragement, my friend.

  6. Lyle Ernst says:

    As usual, well done, my friend.

  7. Reblogged this on Joycegodwingrubbs2's Blog and commented:

    Increasingly there is a sense of urgency to make your retirement plan. With all you have already accumulated would it not be easier to remain in place and retire on Facebook?

  8. sherioz says:

    Glad to have met you – don’t even remember how. So I am glad you retired to FB rather than Florida.

  9. It beats the alternatives. And hey, we met up so it has been fun and it has been a blessing to have you to keep me up on “current events of Israel and all that entails these days. Blessings and thank you for being a friend.

Leave a Reply

