My Name’s Not Sue, But Close (A Legacy Story from the personal collection of Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs)


MY NAME’S NOT SUE, BUT CLOSE. (A Legacy Story)

My dad visiting in Okmulgee, Ok. My sister Trula on the right, and me on the left.

My dad visiting in Okmulgee, Ok. My sister Trula on the right, and me on the left.

There’s more than one interesting story about my full name. My first name was the most interesting, and I have had the most fun with it.

Johnny Cash, rumored to be a third or fourth cousin of my biological dad, Lloyd J. Godwin, is not proven, but the resemblance was easy to see in looks, but not dad’s singing voice.  Johnny sang “A Boy Named Sue“. This song was about a dad who left his family after naming his son Sue. It was his intention that his son would grow up tough enough to survive due to the many challenges the name would provoke. It was comical, but a little like what my father did to me.

My father, Lloyd Jewel Godwin

My father, Lloyd Jewel Godwin

I am here to tell you that my father claimed to have named me Joyce after a black prize fighter he fought in the 30’s. Dad began the story saying it was his last fight (though he didn’t know it at the beginning of the fight). A big and fearsome looking, black, prize-fighter stepped into the ring and this was during a time that boxing was still segregated so it was a well-attended fight due to its unique billing of integrated boxers.

Dad’s  name was announced, “Red Fight ‘em Godwin” (I am still unable to figure out how he got this name since his hair was so black it was almost blue, and his eyes were a bright Paul Newman blue.) I imagine it could have been a reference to his quick spit-fire temper. I can picture how my dad must have pranced around the ring acknowledging his “fans” as he was quite the lady’s man. 

Then they announced his opponent’s name.  This fearsome looking “colored” man (which was the accepted term used in this time period and in Oklahoma) was named “Joyce”. Dad claimed his reaction and that of the audience was unrestrained laughter, and let me tell you my dad had a wicked, irritating laugh when he was making fun of something. I can still hear it in my mind all these years later. Whatever his response and that of the audience, it turned the offended boxer into a whirling dervish. My dad always took care to protect his face (after all he was often called “Pretty Boy Floyd” after the famous gangster who had died just four years before and was buried in Oklahoma.) “Joyce” made mincemeat of my dad’s face and made a short fight of it to boot.

It was after that fight that my dad, with his two black eyes, busted lip, bloodied nose and wounded pride, approached my grandpa that very night asking permission to marry my mom. Never mind the fact that she was just sixteen. It is also worth mentioning that my grandpa, Arthur Marrs, was so strict he thought Sunday School parties were vanity and wrong, so there had been no dating. My dad also had to convince my grandfather that his fighting days were over and seal it with a promise to become a sharecropper with my grandfather which involved lots of “cotton picking and tending”. Grandpa had been adamant his daughter was not marrying a fighter and he only saw sharecropping as a proper way to earn a living.

Maarguerite Elizabeth Marrs Godwin and Lloyd Jewel Godwin

Marguerite Elizabeth Marrs Godwin and Lloyd Jewel Godwin

My dad and mom lost their first two babies, a boy Lloyd Jr. and a girl, Estella Frances. When the third child was born, my sister Trula, my mother named her after her Sunday school teacher. Trula White. When I arrived, it was Dad’s turn to name a child. For my first name, he chose Joyce after the greatest fighter he ever fought (and I believe he had created a legendary boxing status for the man who beat him and caused him to leave boxing.) Marie, became my middle name after his old girlfriend who was a nurse. (This could be construed as foreshadowing of my future career, or at least one of them.)Nurse Marie (named for her)

 

Like many young couples who make “fussing and fighting” their means of communication, these two would periodically run out of things to fuss about. Then, my name would pop up. They could always get into a good one about the nurse and prize fighting. Of course, my dad disliked church and ‘such stuff’, so when the Sunday school teacher came up in conversation, they were off to the races again.

This legacy of verbal battle would become a standard among many of our family members and its legacy is not always a positive one.  I have no doubt that throughout our southern family, many such stories exist, but this one is mine.

copyright sign 2006

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Name’s Not Sue, But Close (A Legacy Story from the personal collection of Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs)

  1. Lyle Ernst says:

    As usual, Joyce Godwin Grubbs tells a fascinating, true story, and she tells them better than anyone. This will be filed in my JGG file with all the other interesting true stories. Love you Joyce.

Leave a Reply

