A Christmas Letter of Thanks With a Touch of Balderdash by Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs


 

Christmas tree anna

♫♪♫  “I’ve got the sun in the morning and the moon at night. Who could ask for anything more? ♪♫♪♫ Irving Berlin

 Irving  Berlin was a giant in the role of composer before, during, and as a part of my generation. This Christmas season he might be better known for White Christmas. I, however, remain ever influenced by his songs, “Blue Skies”  “Easter Parade” and “God Bless America” though he wrote over 2100 songs.

Are you beginning to wonder how this could be my Christmas letter?

I believe that Berlin wrote about “the small things that make us happy and content” as well as the things that give us hope and pride. Coincidentally. reaching my age does the same. It focuses you on those things that matter and are attainable, by choice. If you reach your senior years and you are still willing to focus all your energy and desires on attaining “things” you are going to hate the holidays and know true discontentment until you change your ways or die trying.

So here are some thoughts to give you options, hope, and dispel any lingering “bah humbugs”when it is time to make 2016 resolutions. 

This year I gave up on belly dancing. No, really, I did. I found contentment in knowing all I have to do is push my button and my electric lift chair stands me up, and since I no longer aspire to belly dancing, I am free to grab my walker and just enjoy the ♪♪♫♫ music.♪♫♪♫♫♪ This reminds me, to remind you, NOT TO DIE WITH YOUR MUSIC OR YOUR STORY INSIDE YOU♫♫♪♫♪

This year I forced myself to write some letters I may never mail, but if I find their addresses I might.<grin> I sat down and wrote the “old boyfriends” a letter about my regrets. No, not about not being with them, just about the man I found and what he gave me in my lifetime of 54 years with him. The irreplaceable blessing in my life..
Writing the letter  is a technique I often taught victims/survivors to do when putting things into perspective and “forgiving and forgetting” once and for all, anything left hanging. You do know that something left hanging, hangs around your neck and is called an albatross, right???

The too oft used and abused saying of, “Growing old isn’t for sissies” leads me to say, “Balderdash”. (If the word doesn’t seem to fit, consider that as an author who has more than a million words in print I have always wanted to use that one, but had no appropriate context to place it in until now.) Growing old is for the brave, determined, the grateful and the generous who wish to share their legacies which come in many forms. Only the brave can face their diminished physical image, the determined must use all of their determination to be articulate and honest about all that is yet to come, and they must do it with gratitude in their hearts. Lastly, the legacies they leave are material, figurative, lasting, and heartfelt. That is  always a struggle to leave behind in the care of others with confidence.

This Christmas season I would tell each of you, be you my family, my friends, my peers, or each of the diverse people for whom my love has brought you into my embrace in 2015. I have never known such an outpouring of love towards me personally. I have never seen such challenges arise all around me and throughout this world and its turmoil. Thank you for “getting me through” with your prayers, words, deeds, and kindnesses. 

The inspiration to write this post tonight was because I was blessed to hear from someone who told me she had finally decided how to decorate her graduation cap for college graduation. She said she was inspired by one of my sayings that I put at the end of every novel I wrote, and many of my stories. I shall end this Christmas Letter of Thanks with the quote.

        The End is but an Opportunity to Begin Again.

          Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs

Greyhound Lady Walking ornaments given to me by a dear fan/friend which inspired the Greyhound Christmas tree. It is these kinds of kindnesses that have blessed my heart time and again. Not for the gift of it, but the love given unsolicited.  I do not leave this world a rich nor powerful person, but when that time comes, I do leave it loved and knowing the meaning of true friendship and that “those who have loved deeply, can never truly be separated.”

Merry Christmas, and may you find the meaning and purpose in your life brings you peace and joy as mine has to me.

 

copyright sign 2015

 

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in A Salute to Friendship Perfection and Passing it on, Christmas, Happiness, Holiday memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Christmas Letter of Thanks With a Touch of Balderdash by Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs

  1. Sue Gauden says:

    Joyce,

    Lovely Christmas letter! I would expect no less from you!

    You chose not to talk about your children and husband and that is your choice. I was looking forward to seeing their picture and learning names, etc.

    Yes, being thankful for each day is important. Every morning I am pleased to wake up and I thank the Lord for another day.

    Take care, Merry Christmas!

    Hugs, Sue

  2. Dear Sue,. this was my author’s Christmas Letter so you will receive my personal family letter separately. Love ya.

  3. Beautiful as always… makes me feel part of the family.. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

