Family and Friends Warrant a Personal Christmas Greeting by Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs


Christmas tree annaMerry Christmas and a blessed New Year.

Our sphere of happiness has increased to the point that this will be written in a new format so that I can give all “my darlings” a little update.

Herm older  This will be the 54th Christmas that “Hermie Honey” and I will be together. He is now 74 and still that raging stallion of a man to me. In charge, formidable, Okie through and through, but mellowed. Or perhaps it is just that he has been purified into pure gold by all the challenges and adventures of life. Either way, yes, he was/is the inspiration/model for Dalton in Greyhound Lady Walking and he will always own the credit for me becoming a published author and writing what I know and love.

 

Trula profile

 

Trula Dee, our first born rock’s her 50’s with hubby Lonn. The two can be found on their “dream boat” on a Wisconsin lake any day of the summer. She has managed to have it all: Marriage, five kiddos, a career and the man who is her soulmate.

Trula with Lonn Ozarks 2014

 

Steve with wife Kelli Jacque Grubbs:

Steve kelli 2015 Christmas

Steve, second born, is also making sure grass doesn’ grow under his feet in his 50’s and took on a position with a national presidential campaign. (Not his first rodeo). He and Kelli continue to make time for each other racking up the frequent flier miles to keep themselves in touch with their 4 children who are in different states/universities, with one still at home in high school and one who returned after college to work with a new company for the Victory Companies Steve and Kelli founded, and now run together.  Davenport, Iowa keeps them grounded and is the “heart of the Iowa Grubbs”.

shannon travelingShannon, “our Baby” is doing more traveling to build up stamina to “rock” her 50’s when she gets there (very soon). She and her children just moved into their first new home and their only complaint thus far is that it’s “too big” but they love finding ways to fill it with friends. Ohio suits them.

Shannon new house

HOLD ON TO YOUR HATS; NOW, ABOUT THOSE ELEVEN GRANDCHILDREN.

Grubbs Grandchildren collage 2014

 

FIRST TRULA DEE’S: Adam was our first of eleven to marry. Stellar event.

Hensler family at wedding.

My family from l-r: Zach, Aspen, Lonn, Crystal, Adam, Trula, Steven, and Dakota. WHAT A FAMILY! BLESSED ,

Steve and Kelli’s; Erica, Justin, Olivia, Steve, Kelli, JaredSteve kelli 2015 Christmas.jpg 2a

 

Shannon’s:   Jeff, Shannon, Samantha “Sammy”
shannon and kiddos

 

 

AND BRINGING UP THE REAR, WHO ELSE ?

anna smith 1

 

 

 

anna smith 2

 

 

 

 

LITTLE OLD ME: I ALWAYS GET THE LAST WORD YOU KNOW……….

 Trula and Joyce Dec 1951Hermie Honey andJoyce

I961 was a pivotal year, my sister had married and in a month, I would marry my Okie Boy.  Who would have guessed that 54 years later, here we would be? Three children, eleven grandchildren, and them beginning to find their loves and move this family forward and upward. I can only say that I am humbled the Lord saw fit to let me survive many challenges and life-lessons, and arrive here with a song still in my heart about the journey.

As I wish you all a Merry Christmas from me, and hope whatever you are celebrating this season, be it a different holiday or not, that we can each take a moment to reflect on what brought us together as friends, and gives us hope that this world will find its way to co-exist in peace for the sake of our future generations.

Thank you each and everyone for your love and for loving our family, and may God bless you “real good” as we Okie’s like to say.

                                                                                               Herman and Joyce

From our back yard to yours. Photographed by Herm

HERMAN'S SQUIRREL REDBIRDS (3)

copyright sign 2015

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holiday memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

