My Life in 6 words; Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs


Author Life in 6 words

VIOLATED:It started before first grade so one could say my childhood was lost. Being forced to keep secrets, fearing the threats of the perpetrator against my parents , and always wondering  what I had done to be “chosen”. Was I a “bad seed” ?  Was it my fault?

AUTHOR

Hair%20cut%20special

What I notice about this picture is that I had cut my own bangs for this school picture infuriating my mother who couldn’t understand why I would “destroy” the permanent that cost her so “dearly.” She said she got it for me to make me “cute” for my school pictures.  She would never have understood that I didn’t want to be “cute” or “noticed.” And the fact that the permanent, though done by a “professional,” fried my fine hair and was breaking off at the ends just compounded my frustration.

 

 

VICTIM: I would live years into my teens before I knew how to disguise the shame as a victim. One could say that period of my life honed and refined my acting skills, so that my talents would help me to become the 1961 Best Actress Award at my high school my senior year. Through the efforts of my drama teacher in high school, I was even given the opportunity to go to the famous Pasadena Playhouse in California to study acting, but my parents thought acting was a scandalous profession and wouldn’t “allow” it. In hind-sight, I would have been a high-risk “bumpkin” out there.Joyce 18

SURVIVOR: It took working with other victims as an advocate counselor and helping them go underground to build an author’s platform to speak for the victim/survivors.  In telling their stories and mine in novels created to give the victims “voice” to release some of the pain, I found redemptive acceptance of my role as a victim.  This enabled me to become a fully confident survivor.

In most instances, were their stories not written by me, the stories would have died with me. Thus the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series was born and to protect the identities, the locations, the workers and the methods by which we put victim/survivors underground.  In each book the locations, characters and methods are disguised in a format of an ongoing group of rescuers that worked to set victims free and help them start new lives. No confidentialities were broken in the writing of the series.author pic

GLW collage redo again

I remember the first submissions of my novels to editors with a cover letter explaining that these were “real cases”  and “real voices” written as “creative narrative” or “creative fiction” to protect the real victims’ names, locations, and workers. It was then very frustrating to receive replies that suggested or demanded, “this would never happen”.  As tactfully as I could, I would remind them that if it was in the book, “it already had” as these were actual cases of first hand experience by me, or in conjunction with sex crime expert, police officer, Trula Godwin’s cases working with the Davenport, Iowa police department.

Finally, I had to accept that too many people who have not been immersed in the sad and “dirty” culture that accompanies rape/sexual assault and domestic violence, could not process the realities. This would be the majority of those working in the literary field of publishing’s chain of command. It is a truthful fact that this was the primary motivator for me deciding to become an Indie author. I was proud for the opportunity not to have to “water down” and “dis-honor” the factual accounts of what happened, to please editors and publishers whose shallow insights to control the author, over-rode the truth. It may have compromised the span of my outreach, but the messages from readers made it clear, it was the right decision.

Vini: I came to the part of my life where I could allow someone in; I could trust and love.

                       osu sweethearts 1961

Vidi:I Saw that in life one could be “bitter or better” and it was a choice.

Joyce wedding cake

January 28, 1962

Vici: I Conquered  I was no longer afraid to speak out; I chose to wear an abuse “charm” that symbolized the anvil that in the Bible is spoken of as being tied around the neck of a perpetrator who harms a child, and then the perpetrator is thrown into the deepest depths of the ocean. (The idea for the charm actually originated when my husband suggested that all perpetrators should be forced to wear an anvil around their necks to identify what they were.)

charm6 charm Love 

I wear it yet today at age 73, and I keep crystals hanging in windows to allow the sunshine to keep rainbows in my life.

                           . Rainbows in your life.png

A closing thought is this: Forgiveness is the answer to the child’s dream of a miracle by which what is broken is made whole again, what is soiled is made clean again.
Read more at: http://www.azquotes.com/quote/122349 Former United Nations President Dag Hammarskjöld.

 

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in betrayal, sexual assault, Uncategorized, Victim then Survivor, Victim/survivor emblems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Life in 6 words; Author Joyce Godwin Grubbs

  1. Tewanta Dover Lopez says:

    You are a treasure and a source of strength to me. Some day I will try to write my story. Even YOU don’t know everything! It is so filled with “coincidences” that I feel most people won’t believe it! Blessings to you, dear Lady word-smith and friend!
    Tewanta

    • Thank you Tewanta, and I feel the same about you. I take seriously the charge in the Bible that the older women are to guide the younger women by word and deed. In this time and age of great challenge with sex trafficking and all the freedoms given to predators, we as women and mothers must be ready to call out those who would harm (our) children. And in the telling, the “graphics” aren’t as important as the warning of the process. And often I don’t use identities as much as designated “names”. An example might be “Preacher Man” or “Sneaky Sam” or “Betrayer”. It’s not always about “outing the person” its more in the telling of their deeds. (Besides, one might be in court for years battling libel.”How many trials can one afford to go through? When the time is His, He will guide your efforts.

Leave a Reply

