Fans and Friends; Sgt. Hammer (real one) is Getting Married; Jason’s Love is War Comes Full Circle


VET FAMILY NOVEL

If you remember, at the end of the novel Sgt. Jason Hammer has just arrived “home” from Afghanistan, (and he is the alter ego  of the real life Sgt. Jason Tanner, my nephew).  Sgt. Jason Hammer is uncertain as to what life will bring. Now meet the woman who in real life made it all “come together” and will marry him at the top of Seven Falls, Sabino Canyon, Tucson, AZ in February.  (After a career in the Army, of course hiking and climbing would be involved. )

 

Jason “Hammer” Tanner hanging out with his love. Jason and his love Kellie D

A PERSONAL REFLECTION BY SGT. JASON TANNER ON HIS 40th birthday at Torkham Air Base, Afghanistan.

Jason torkam

Jason avatar

  • I  stood in the shadows of the mountains of Tora Bora where Bin Ladin planned his deeds.
  •  I have said ‘lets go’ and ‘move out’, when other Americans would rather quit and go home.
  •  I have pushed my 40 old body to surpass the 20 year old ones around me.
  •  I have looked my son in his eyes and told him that I will be OK knowing that I truly do not know that answer.
  •  I have fought  the urge to say “F” it, and I lead my men to drive on.
  •  I have dealt with the lonely nights and slept without the caress of my girl.
  •  I stand next to men every day that do the same thing that I do and that fight the same demons that I fight every day.
  •  I drive on when I am hurt and cannot stand from the pain.
  •  I smile and say I am OK when I am ready to break.
  •  Hurt or sick, well rested or not, mentally straight or a mind of cluster, I drive on.
  •  And then someone will ask me why I do what I do if it causes so much pain. Most of the time I tell them, as I tell my son, if not me then who?  Someone has to defend this country so it may as well be me.
  •   But after our last few e-mails Aunt Joyce, you need to know that it is for the 89%(who do not serve).
  •  It is for a retired history teacher, (His uncle Herman Grubbs)  or so an old man can have his garden. (His Grandpa Dr. Willard M. Smith)
  •  It is for a hard working father or mother so they don’t have to leave their kids.
  •  It is for the student that just hasn’t figured out yet where they want to go.
  •  And it is for the author so she can have a story to tell. (His aunt, Joyce Godwin Grubbs).
  •  You see Aunt Joyce there are many reason that I do what I do, and most of the time I don’t understand them, and maybe like my Mom’s kids, mine have suffered some too.
  •  I do what I do because it is what I am good at and all I know how to do, it is the only thing that brings me pride besides my kids. When my days are over if someone were to ask me then,” Would you do it again?”  I would say yes. But only if you don’t change one moment of the pain or one moment of the fear or loneliness. As long as every adversity that has come my way  stands in front of me again, then yes I will do it again. These are the things that have made me who I am and what I am.
  •  Some of these things are not good, but they are still me. I may not be able to stand next to a more perfect man, but as I said I have stood in some pretty good places that other men will never stand; some men would be afraid to stand, and other men would never try to stand.
  •  At the end of it all when I look back at things I have done I get one thing out of it, pride. But you have to go through the suck” before you get there.

Jason leave no medal behind

Jason returned to America via Wounded Warriors and the x-rays above are his.

vets family tanner jason

Sgt. Tanner has now retired from the military and has moved forward with his civilian life, though anyone who knows him would tell you that he still considers his military duty the “best part of him, ”  although he is quickly finding his new role as a civilian in love and soon to be married, very appealing.

God bless you Sgt. Jason Tanner and be it you or your alter ego Sgt. Jason Hammer, we wish you all the best as you and Kellie D. combine your lives to seek the fulfillment of all that is good. Ahead, may it be in some small way, the beginning of your reward for your long years of service to your country.

jason and crew Afghanistan

Soon to be doing just the wonderful things of married life in Tucson, Az.

Jason with Kellie D

 

 

GLW collage redo again

Amazon.com has all books :  Enter Joyce Godwin Grubbs   Kindle Ebooks.

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Happiness, marriage, Military, Novels by the author, Retirement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fans and Friends; Sgt. Hammer (real one) is Getting Married; Jason’s Love is War Comes Full Circle

  1. Nothing better than happy ending. Amen!

Leave a Reply

