THE MARRS FAMILY VETERANS; REUNION EVERY MEMORIAL WEEKEND, MORRIS OK.


reunion timline 4.jpga

ONE   Elven Andrews Marrs, PFC

military Uncle Bud

Elven Andrew Marrs, Private First Class. He was an expert rifleman in Field Artillery on the 30 Caliber MI. He was honorably discharged on September 18, 1945 in Ft. Sill, Oklahoma. Elven Andrew Marrs, “Bud” as he was known, was the son of John M. Marrs and Anna Elizabeth Harris Marrs. He is pictured on the Marrs banner that we hang on our Family reunion on Memorial Day. .

TWO     Arick Lee Johnson, Senior Airman

Military pic Arick Johnson

Arick Lee Johnson, Senior Airman. Arick’s basic training was in San Antonino, Texas. He was stationed in Aviano Italy, Spangdahlem, Germany, Osan AB Korea, and Colorado Springs, Colorado.   He was also deployed to Kandahar, Afghanistan, and Al -Adeid, Qatar. He served 11 years before his honorable discharge. Arick Lee Johnson, is the son of Becky Marrs Johnson and Bob Johnson, served in the Air Force and he is the grandson of Elven Marrs and great-grandson of John M Marrs.

 

THREE       Jamie Allen, U.S. Air Force

Military Jamie Allen

Jamie Allen, U.S. Air Force, is the daughter of the late John Marrs and granddaughter of Johney Cecil Marrs and Mary Marrs of Nederland Texas. She has brought honor to our family and we thank her for her service.

 

FOUR     Bradley Lloyd Tanner, Marine Sniper

Military Bradley Tanner

Bradley Lloyd Tanner, was a Marine Sniper enlisting immediately after his graduation from Morris High School. He is the son of the late Trula Godwin (Tanner), and Darrell Tanner, grandson of Marguerite Marrs Godwin (Smith) and Lloyd J. Godwin.

 

 

FIVE     Sgt. Jason Tanner U.S. Army retired

Military Jason at attention

Sgt. Jason Tanner, U. S. Army retired, He served in Somalia and in Afghanistan at. He is the son of the late Trula Godwin (Tanner) and Darrell Tanner. Grandson of Marguerite Marrs Godwin (Smith) and Lloyd J. Godwin.

SIX      Sgt. Darrin Tanner, U.S. Army

Military Darrin Tanner cut

Sgt. Darrin Tanner, U.S. Army His first duty station was Ft. McClellan, AL until it was shut down for the presence of hazardous waste. He served twice in Germany. First as an M.P., then to Ft. Polk, Al., and then returned to assigned to a nuclear security site in Kriegsfeld Army Depot-NATO Site Number 107 guarding some of our nation’s nuclear weapons. Kreigsfeld Army Depot NATO-site 107 in assigned to a nuclear security site in Kriegsfeld Army Depot-NATO Site Number 107 guarding some of our nation’s nuclear weapons. assigned to a nuclear security site in Kriegsfeld Army Depot-NATO Site Number 107 guarding some of our nation’s nuclear weapons. assigned to a nuclear security site in Kriegsfeld Army Depot-NATO Site Number 107 guarding some of our nation’s nuclear weapons. Germany, where he was guarding our nation’s nuclear weapons until his enlistment ended June of 1984. The son of Trula Godwin (Tanner) and Darrell Tanner. Grandson of Marguerite Marrs Godwin (Smith) Lloyd J. Godwin     e I served 1 ½ years Moved to Ft. Polk, LA and made the rank of Sergeant. The army cannot let a soldier stay still for long so I was assigned back to Germany, (This was still during the Cold War era) so I was assigned to a nuclear security site in Kriegsfeld Army Depot-NATO Site Number 107 guarding some of our nation’s nuclear weapons. When my time was up on that enlistment I was asked to reenlist to stay at that location. Being a remote area I was keen staying another two years so I left the army. I returned home in November of 1989 and looked for work, but nothing really came out of searching. In March of 1990 I reenlisted and was assigned to Ft. Sam Houston in San Antonio, TX. A wonderful area and one that I enjoyed. It was short lived and soon after I made the promotion list I was assigned to Germany once again. This time the Frankfurt area. I was assigned to Rheine Main Customs where we cleared troops coming into and leaving Germany. During the Gulf War we stayed busy making sure plane after plane of soldiers and other troops were able to enter the US again quickly when returning to the states from the war. During this time Germany was also drawing down the number of troops there and I was reassigned to the Frankfurt Field Office to oversee the transitioning soldiers and families going back to the states. After 3 years of this I was sent to Basic Non Commissioned Officer Course back at Ft. McClellan, AL. for courses on leadership. This was a two month course which I loved and hated every minute of. Upon completing this course I went to my duty station of Ft. Leavenworth, KS where I worked mostly in the medium security wing of the prison. Prison guard was not my assigned job but for some reason the army thought I needed to do this job. I spoke to the SGM and asked to be reassigned to my job and out of the prison but it fell on deaf ears. So at this time I decided that I had enough of the army, Bill Clinton had started shorting the army of man power at this time anyway, so I put in a request to leave the army early. By the time I received the answer back from D.C. I had already been out of the army officially for 7 days. And so ended my time in the army from June of 1984 to May of 1995.

 

SEVEN (TWO PICTURES)     Earl K. Smith, U.S. Army

Military Missing in Action

TRIBUTE PICTURE TO MIA: Earl K Smith the son of Winifred (Winnie) Marrs Smith, served in the Army. He was listed MIA and declared dead on his wife’s birthday November 27, 1950. Reunion Earl Smith His daughter Brenda Smith Semore is not sure where his remains are. She was first told North Korea but she received more papers, and a phone call, where she was told that he could be in the bowl of unknowns in Hawaii. She is not sure where he was located or his rank, but she did know he was in North Korea.

 

EIGHT             Ty Marrs, 36th Evac, Vietnam

Military Ty Marrs

 

Ty Marrs was a medic/physical therapist at the PT clinic at 17th Field Hospital, in Saigon 1967 It was the 36th Evac, Vietnam. He is the son of the late, Jack Jerline Marrs and mother Maxine.  Grandson of Arthur and Rhoda Marrs.

NINE       Johney Cecil Marrs, Seabee First Class

reunion Johney Marrs sailor

Johney Cecil Marrs, Seabee First Class. Served during WWII. He was the youngest son of Arthur and Rhoda Marrs of Morris, Oklahoma. Married to Mary Marrs, and father of Michael, John, and James Marrs.

 

TEN       Jack Jerline Marrs, U.S. Navy Seaman First Class

Military Jack 3

Jack Jerline Marrs, U.S. Navy Seaman First Class -Enlisted 12-9-1942. Discharged Under the Honorable Service Button Award 6-27-1944. Jack Jerline Marrs, was the eldest son of Arthur and Rhoda Marrs of Morris Oklahoma. Father of Ty Marrs and brother of Marguerite, Johney Cecil Marrs, Danita Marrs Gross

 

 

ELEVEN    Michael Ray White, Sgt. Major

Reunion Michael

Michael Ray White Sgt. Major: Seen in this graduation photo from the Sergeant Majors Academy. Last rank in the Army was Sergeant Major for the 506th out of Fort Campbell, KY. He served 23 years 8 months. Al Miller and Mildred “Millie” (Marrs) Miller’s grandson, Gertie White is his daughter.

TWELVE      Dennis Miller, Served 1967-1971

Reunion Dennis Miller

Dennis Miller 1967-1971. Son of Al Miller, and Mildred Marrs Miller (Arthur Marrs sister). His service is appreciated by the family and the nation, and he is an honorable addition to the Marrs family.

 

THIRTEEN   Lloyd Al Miller, Jr. Cpl. Sgt.

 Reunion Lloyd al Miller Jr. Army 1964-1969

Lloyd Al Miller Jr., Corporal Sargent in the Army. 1964 -1969. Al and Mildred Marrs Miller’s son. His service is appreciated by the entire Marrs family and his nation. He was a credit to us all.

 

FOURTEEN     Gene Mathews Oliver showing his father, Gene Mathews, uniform. See story below.

Reunion military Gene Matthews

ARLENE MATHEWS YOUNG SHARES: This is about an Iwo Jima veteran in our family, Gene Mathews. His son, Arlene’s nephew, Gene Mathews Oliver (above) stands holding his uniform. Arlene’s niece found the picture in Arizona about 2014. Arlene took him the uniform last year when she went out to meet him in February of 2015.    Arlene states: “The Uniform belonged to his Dad, my brother, Gene Mathews. Mother protected it for years and then my daughter, Heather, took over. Gene Mathews wore it in during World War II. He was wounded on Iwo Jima and died a few months later. I gave Gene Mathews Oliver the Uniform when I went out to meet him in Feb. last year (2015).”

 

 

 

FIFTEEN   J.D. Marrs, U.S. Navy

Reunion Michael .png 2

 

  1. J. D. Marrs, U. S. Navy. Pictured during his distinguished career in the   Navy. Son of Steve Marrs & Jan Marrs. He served in the US Navy 1986-2010. Retired after 24 years and moved back to Paris, TX area. He is the son of Steve Marrs & Jan Marrs and a credit to the Marrs family of service.

SIXTEEN 

 ReunionEugene Olen Mathews33

Eugene Olen Mathews, PFC, WWII. Enlisted USMC 10-November, 1942 at age 17. Certified USMC Parachutist 15 February, 1943. . Wounded in action 24 February, 1945 Iwo Jima. Died in Pearl Harbor Naval Hospital, 11 June, 1945. Buried in the Halawa Naval Cemetery, Oahu, Hawaii. Body returned to San Francisco, CA, 10 October 19.47. Reburied in Golden Gate National Cemetery at San Bruno, CA 7, November, 1947 Son of Mary Edith Marrs Mathews, brother of Bill Mathews

 

SEVENTEEN   Eugene Olen Mathews, U.S. Army

Bottom Picture: Bruce Eugene (Mathews) Oliver

 Reunion dual picture 

DUAL PICTURE

TOP Picture is: Eugene Olen Mathews WWII BOTTOM picture is: Bruce Eugene (Mathews) Oliver, U.S. Army, Served October 1963-October 1966. He served as a Paratrooper. (This is the only picture existing of him in uniform.) . Son of Eugene Olen Mathews and Grandson of Mary Edith Marrs Mathews. This picture was done from the News Clipping seen in the picture.

 

 

EIGHTEEN      Billy Junior Mathews, M/Sgt. USAF

Reunion Billy Junior Mathews

M/SGT. Billy Junior Mathews. USAF. He enlisted USAF 21, June, 1970. The Marrs family appreciates the service and the patriotic role model to the family. Son of Mary Edith (Marrs) Mathews .

 

NINETEEN    

Reunion James Edling unclassified

James Lee Edling 1SG James L. Edling, Ranger, Airborne, Air Assault, Pathfinder, Jumpmaster, Combat Infantryman’s Badge, Expert Infantryman’s Badge, 2 Bronze Stars, 3 Meritorious Service Medals, 3 Army Commendation Medals, 7 Army Achievement Medals, 1 tour to Bosnia, 3 tours to Afghanistan. He is the son of Cynthia (Marrs) Clapsaddle.

TWENTY      Johney Cecil Marrs WWII, U.S. Navy

Reunion Johney Cecil marrs memorial

Johney Cecil Marrs, WWII Veteran of the Navy, visiting the WWII memorial in Washington D.C. on an Honor Flight from Texas. His visit reveals a truth about the Marrs family; we appreciate, love and support our veterans. This picture symbolizes the intense emotion still experienced by those who served, through all the years, and in all the arenas and theatres of war. We pray our family veterans will always know how grateful we are to them individually and also how much, as a family, they stand for our freedom and our honor. We regret we were unable to gather more pictures and stories, but the online album on the Marrs Family and Friends Facebook site is expanding daily. New entries will be found there in the future. May God Continue to Bless America.

 

            

                          I    Stood

By Sgt. Jason Tanner reunion Jason Tanner

  • I stood in the shadows of the mountains of Tora Bora where Bin Laden planned his deeds.
  • I have said ‘let’s go’ and ‘move out’, when other Americans would rather quit and go home.
  • I have pushed my 40 old body to surpass the 20 year old ones around me.
  • I have looked my son in his eyes and told him that I will be OK knowing that I truly do not know that answer.
  • I have fought the urge to say “F” it, and I lead my men to drive on.
  • I have dealt with the lonely nights and slept without the caress of my girl.
  • I stand next to men every day that do the same thing that I do and that fight the same demons that I fight every day.
  • I drive on when I am hurt and cannot stand from the pain.
  • I smile and say I am OK when I am ready to break.
  • Hurt or sick, well rested or not, mentally straight or a mind of cluster, I drive on.
  • And then someone will ask me why I do what I do if it causes so much pain. Most of the time I tell them, as I tell my son, if not me then who?  Someone has to defend this country so it may as well be me .

flag memorial vs veterans

 

 

The author using Skype for interviews.

As an author I am particularly proud to include this group of Veterans into  my blog. The debt we owe them cannot be repaid, but it can be honored. God Bless America and all who served and kept us free.

 

 

 

 

 
.
.

 

 

 

 

About joycegodwingrubbs2

Some call me retired: I am RE-FIRED. I have written 15 books, plus 3 were written as a "ghost writer". I no longer offer them as printed books having them only available as Kindle Ebooks since my retirement as a novelist. Twelve books are on Amazon.com Kindle eBooks: collectively they are known as The Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series.They are real cases fictionalized into suspense stories to protect identities..( no victim/survivor names were compromised, and workers and locations were protected.) I also co-authored a non-fiction book: Footsteps Out of Darkness: The Annabelle Kindig Story . It is available on Amazon under the name of Annabelle Kindig. I have traveled, written from the heart, and found an audience that appreciates my "platform". The catalyst to writing the novels was the realization that if I died, I would take all my amazing experiences in these real cases with me; and believe me few have lived 5 lives in one. It would "silence the voices" of the victim/survivors whose triumphs are written into these novels. The suspense series was written in part with the collaboration of police woman and sex crime expert Trula Ann Godwin. In addition to the novels, I have written as a ghost writer for a World War II veteran who fought in the South Pacific aboard the USS Maryland in all the major battles. I have also written a non-fiction book recording oral history stories of my family members beginning with the 1930's to present. There are sixty-six "legacy" stories with pictures. It was recently published as a private printing for family and close associates only. I am a published photo journalist having won the 2009 Editor's Choice Award for internet freelance news articles and pictures of the Cedar Rapid's Iowa flood victim accounts and their personal struggles.. My husband and I are in our 52nd year together (only one blip on the marital radar together), and we have adopted three greyhounds; Dex, Big Buddy and Baby Doll. These were the inspirations in the Greyhound Lady Walking suspense series We have eleven grandchildren, 7 grandsons and 4 granddaughters. My three children live in Iowa, Wisconsin and Ohio.
This entry was posted in Family claims, Family Legacies, Military and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE MARRS FAMILY VETERANS; REUNION EVERY MEMORIAL WEEKEND, MORRIS OK.

  1. Anna Smith says:

    Thanks to All

    Sent via the Samsung Galaxy Note5, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  2. A Beautiful Tribute at a time when such sacrifice is not always recognized or appreciated. thank you for keeping memories alive and for honouring them.

  3. It culminated in the presentation at the reunion in Oklahoma this weekend with the banner with all of these pictures and information on a 4×8 ft banner that will be shared at the annual reunion.

Leave a Reply

